National Author’s Day

Today is National Authors Day, so I find it compelling to write a little about the author that inspired me to explore my own writing style.

There are more authors than I can possibly name that have inspired me, but there is one that was my initial inspiration and I owe it to her for frankly not giving a damn about society’s rules, J.K. Rowling. When you have a great idea, write about it.

J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series was hands down the first series I absolutely fell in love with. The first Harry Potter book, “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” was published when I was in elementary school. When these books were first released they were tremendously controversial. I grew up in a Conservative Christian home and town, the idea of children reading about witchcraft was unspeakable. I will admit, for a few years I was against reading the books because of the controversial level it had, and I honestly didn’t want to upset my family. Once I transitioned into middle school, a lot of my friends were reading the books and constantly discussing them. This gave me the nudge I needed to pick up the book and start reading. I checked out “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” from the school library, took it home and read the entire book that night. I read from the moment I got home until about 3 in the morning.

Once I started getting into the books and continuously bringing them home from school, my parents asked me about them. The Conservative Christian side of them was concerned their influential daughter was reading the “devils book.” The disapproval and debates went on and on until I was finally able to convince them that they taught me well enough to understand the difference between fact and fiction. These books are fiction and they spark my creativity. If I begin casting spells in my room concern should arise, until then I am in my fantasy world wishing I could fly on a broomstick. The best thing that came out of the settled argument with my parents was them starting to take my side of the argument. My parents began speaking with other parents that had concerns about their children reading these books. After logical conversations explaining that it really was okay to have an imagination as long as their child can separate fiction and reality, a lot of these parents saw their child’s point of view and didn’t want to damage the creativity that could arise from such well-written books.

I have always loved reading, even before I picked up the series, but this was the first time I experienced the inability to put a book down. The characters, the creativity and imagination this book possessed captured me. I was addicted. Every time a new book came out, I had to read it as soon as possible. I needed to know what was going to happen next. Now that I could read the books freely without my parents concern, they went with me everywhere. June 21, 2003 “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” was released.  My family and I were on vacation in Colorado and they took the time to take me by a book store to grab the book so I could start reading on the drive back home.

With my parents behind me and an encouraged mind, these books inspired me to think a different way and gave me the urge to write for fun on my own. I began writing short stories and published one in a high school compilation journal and a few of them in my college’s monthly magazine.

J.K. Rowling wrote the bestselling book series in history without a care of offending anyone’s religion or beliefs. She wrote for her, she wrote for fun and she wrote something everyone fell in love with. Thanks to her, I write for me, I write for fun and I hope to write something everyone will fall in love with.

2 thoughts on “National Author’s Day

  1. Hey, I have been to your little space on the web….so happy that I found your blog on the community!!!amazing write up!!!keep writing and inspire us….
    I, myself, love J.K. Rowling and believe that her books really influenced so many people.
    Please do visit my blog when time permits,
    Thanks in advance and see you there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

